Voter Information Voter RegistrationVoter CancellationPermanent Fund Dividend Automatic Voter RegistrationEarly & Absentee VotingMilitary, Overseas & College VotersVoter Assistance & Accessibility InformationElection InformationElection Pamphlets Voter Registration Who Can Register, Who Can Vote? To Register A U.S. CitizenAn Alaskan resident18 years of age or within 90 days of 18th birthdayNot be a convicted felon involving moral turpitude, unless our voting rights have been restored.Not be registered to vote in another state unless you are willing to cancel your registration in that state. To Vote A U.S. citizenAge 18 or older.A resident of the state and of the election district that you seek to vote in for at least 30 days before an election.Registered to vote on or before the registration deadline; and not registered to vote in any other jurisdiction. Alaska Residency Requirements For voting purposes, you are considered an Alaska resident if you reside in the state and intend to remain a resident or, if you temporarily leave the state, you have intention to return (Active military members, spouses, or dependents are exempt from the intent to return requirement). Registration Methods Online It’s quick and easy! You only need your current Alaska driver’s license or state ID to register or update your voter information. Register to Vote In-Person Register to vote or update your registration in person at a Division of Elections office or a voter Registration Agency in your area. Division of Elections OfficesDivision of Motor (DMV) OfficesVocational Rehabilitation OfficesParticipating Tribal Government OfficesLegislative Information OfficesUnited States Armed Forces Voter Assistance OfficesPolitical Party OfficesPublic Assistance AgenciesCity or Borough Clerk’s OfficesParticipating Public LibrariesVoter Registrars Paper Print a paper form to complete and sign. Send your completed form by mail, fax or email attachment to a Regional Elections Office. Paper Registration PDF When registering to vote send a copy of either your current driver’s license, state ID, passport or birth certificate with your paper form. We cannot accept applications as Google Docs. They must be attached directly to the email. Once your voter registration application has been processed, we will send you a voter card. The card will take approximately four to six weeks to arrive. Check my Voter Registration Status Restoring my voting rights Unconditionally Discharged? If you are no longer serving a sentence and have been unconditionally discharged from supervision by the Department of Corrections, you can register to vote in Alaska. The Division of Elections must receive proof of your unconditional discharge from the supervising entity. If you do not have a letter or discharge papers, please contact your probation or parole office to obtain one and submit it to the Division of Elections. Felony Conviction? If you have been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude or are on probation (parole) for the same crime, you are not eligible to register to vote. Following proof of unconditional discharge, you may register to vote. Contact the Department of Corrections, Division of Probation and Parole website for more information and contact information. Voter Cancellation How to cancel my voter registration. By Phone Cancel your voter registration in Alaska by contacting your Regional Elections Office. Be prepared to provide your name and an identifier (voter number, Alaska driver’s license number or state identification number, date of birth or last four of your Social Security Number). In Writing To request your registration be cancelled use the cancellation form. Or, you may also send an email or letter. Your cancellation request must include the following information. Your full name An identifier (voter number, Alaska driver’s license number or state identification number, date of birth or last four of your Social Security Number) Send written requests by email or fax or by mail to your Regional Elections Office. How to report a death. If your immediate family member has passed and they were a voter in the State of Alaska, you can call one of our Regional Elections Offices and inform them of the death. They will ask for information such as the voter’s full name, date of death and an identifier. They will also ask for the name and either an address or phone number of the person providing information along with the relationship to the deceased. Permanent Fund Dividend Automatic Voter Registration (PFD AVR) Alaska voters approved Ballot Measure 1 (15PFVR) in 2016, which automatically registers eligible applicants or updates voter registration information unless an applicant opts-out. After the March 31 PFD application deadline, the Division of Elections sends notices to all applicants who will either become newly registered voters or will have their Alaska residence address updated from their PFD application. Applicants must respond within 30 days to the opt-out notice. Newly registered voters will be registered as undeclared. All voters who are updated and newly registered will receive a new voter card in the mail after registrations have been processed. For more information on PFD AVR, check out our FAQ and PFD AVR Manual. Missed the 30-day opt-out? If you were registered to vote and you do not wish to be a registered voter, you can cancel your registration. If you did not want your Alaska residence address to be updated, you can update your voter information online, by phone, or in person.” For PSAs regarding PFD AVR, see the Press Releases and Public Service Announcements.