
 
 

Ballot Measure No. 3 – 13MINW 
LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS AGENCY SUMMARY 
 
 
The Act raises the state minimum wage.  On January 1, 2015, it will go from $7.75 
to $8.75 per hour.  On January 1, 2016, the minimum wage will go up again to 
$9.75 per hour.  Each year after 2016, the state will adjust the minimum wage for 
inflation.  The new amount must be at least $1.00 more per hour than the federal 
minimum wage.  Tips and gifts do not count as part of the minimum wage. 
 
 
Jii Act t’eh state minimum wage dak t’iizhik.  January 1, 2015 ji’ $7.75 to $8.75 per 
hour heelyaa.  January 1, 2016 ji’ minimum wage chan hee dak t’aneeheenjyaa, 
$9.75 per hour gwats’a’.  Every year 2016 aiitł’ee aii state minimum wage jyats’a’ 

gweedhaa k’iighaih tr’igwegweheelyaa .  All new amount $1.00 federal minimum wage 

andaa heelyaa, aii tips ts’a’ gifts kwaii duuyee minimum wage haa giiyeechyaa. 



READY TO RECORD 
 

Ballot Measure #3 
STATEMENT IN SUPPORT 

 
Under existing law, the minimum wage in Alaska is set at $.50 over the federal minimum wage. 

Since the current federal minimum wage is $7.25, Alaska’s minimum wage is $7.75 per hour. 

The $.50 Alaska premium was established by the First Alaska Legislature in 1959, when the 

federal minimum wage was $1.00 per hour. 

Jii law juk gwit’eh t’inch’yaa aii Alaska minimum wage $.50 federal 

minimum wage andaa nilii, federal mininmum wage t’ee $7.25 an hour 

t’inch’yaa.  Alaska minimum wage $7,75 an hour t’inch’yaa.  Jii $.50 Alaska 

premium t’ee 1959 dai’ gwats’an tr’agwaanaii ts’a’ dagwanahotł ‘oo 

(establish).  First Alaska Legislature aii federal minimum wage $1.00 per 

hour nilii dai’ 

The minimum wage is intended to assure “the maintenance on minimum standards of living 

necessary for the health, efficiency, and general well-being of workers” (Fair Labor Standards 

Act, 1938). No one can cay Alaska’s current minimum wage even comes close to doing this. A 

full-time, year-round worker making $7.25 an hour earns only $16,120 annually. This is $8,600 

below the federal poverty threshold for a family of three in Alaska ($24,740) and $13,700 below 

the federal poverty threshold for a family of four ($29,820). 

Jii minimum wage t’ee jyats’a’ vats’anh garandaii.  Dii health, efficiency, 

ts’a’ juu naii  goodiveegwiinzii.(general well-being of workers) (Fair labor 

standards Act 1938, izhit dai’jii geenjit iltsaii.  Duuyeh ch’ihtłee 

goodiveegwiinzii. Ch’ihtłee gaa Alaska juk minimum wage jyaa gwagoo 

gwats’a’ gwik’it t’igii’in ginyaa.  Jii year round full time tr’agwah’in $7.25 an 

hour gahtsii naii t’ee $16,120 a year gahzhii.   Jii t’ee $8,600 federal 

poverty gwit’eh t’inch’yaa aiits’a’ tik zhehk’aa gwizhit dilk’ii naii $24,740 

Alaska thok gwizhit gahsii ts’a’ $13,700 chan doo naii zhehk’aa dilk’ii chan 

$29,820 thok gahtsii.   

After having had the highest minimum wage in the nation for the first four decades after 

statehood, Alaska has fallen to 19th, behind even low-wage states such as Florida ($7.93) and 

Arizona ($7.90). Thirteen states provide for an annual cost-of-living adjustment to their minimum 

wage based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI). Washington ($9.32) and Oregon ($9.10) have 

the highest state minimum wages; the minimum wage in California will increase to $10 in 

January 2016. 

Alaska Statehood goodlit gwats’anh whole nation (40 years.)  Alaska 

tr’ohkit minimum wage k’iizdak t’iizhik dzaa nation gwizhit tr’ohkit Alaska 

state hood goodlit dai’ minimum wage 4 decade (40 years) d’atthak yeedak 

t’inch’ya’ aii t’ee han hee zhyaa Alaska 19th goovaanagwaanaii.  Florida 

$7.93 goodlit low wage naagwaanaii ts’a’ Arizona chan $7.90 goodlit.  



Consumer Price Index (CPI) kwaii 13 states naii one year gwideezhak 

minimum wage deegwahtsii gahtsii k’iighai’ geedaa ts’a’ cost of living 

k’iighai’ gwits’iginyaa.  Jyats’a’ t’ee goo’aii.  Washington $9.32 ts’a’ Oregon 

$9.10 naii t’ee state minimum wage gwandaa t’ahtsii gahtsii.  Aiits’a’ chan 

California, January 2016 ji’ aii minimum wage $10 an hour gwats’a’ dak 

t’aheenjyaa. 

The measure proposed by Alaskans for a Fair Minimum Wage would raise the state minimum 

wage to approximately what it should have been by January 1, 2016 had the 2003 legislature 

not repealed a cost of living adjustment enacted with broad public support in 2002. The increase 

is phased in over two years (to $8.75 January 1, 2015 and to $9.75 January 1, 2016, with cost 

of living adjustment annually after that) to accommodate employers of low-wage workers in 

adjusting to the increase. 

Alaskan naii measure Fair Minimum Wage eenjit shrigagwinlik aii state 

minimum wage dak t’aheenjyaa geenjit.  January 1, 2016 t’ee jyaa 

t’agweheenjyaa goo’aii gaa 2003 legislature naii cost of living adjustment 

an gaa’ee kwaa.  Jii board public support 2002 dai’ pass dhidlit.  Two years 

gehndaa izhit gwedeezhak dak t’iizhik gaa goovaa gahshriinaajik kwaa.  

January 1, 2015 t’ee $8.75 an hour gwiheelyaa aii tł ‘ee January 1, 2016 ji’ 

$9.25 an hour aii chan vaa cost of living adjustment every year gwiheelyaa.  

Aii employers naii low wage workers naii ts’akgaheenjyaa, aii haa cost of 

living haa nihk’it t’agaheech’yaa gwagwahahtsyaa.  Aii k’iighai’ gaheedaa. 

The initiative bill also reaffirms the long-standing ban on counting employee tips toward meeting 

an employer’s obligation to pay the full minimum wage to tipped employees.  

Jii Bill jadai’ digiiyaantł’oo niinghyit gwit’eh iin’ai’, aiit’ee haneegiin’aii 

t’agah’in.  employer naii juu gooveenjit tr’agwah’in naii tip goots’an niili dai’g 

oondak ts’a’ gwinzii nihteegiiyaazhik.  Aii t’ee juu full minimum wage 

tr’agwah’in naii. 

Studies have shown that over 75% of Alaskan workers earning minimum wage are adults. While 

critics claim that increasing the minimum wage has a negative impact on job opportunities for 

youth, studies have found the effect, if any, to be minor. In fact, under current Alaska law, which 

the proposed initiative would not change, workers under the age of 18 who work no more than 

30 hours per week are exempted from the Alaska minimum wage and fall under the federal 

minimum wage law only. 

Jii over 75 percent, Alaskan workers minimum wage tr’agwah’in naii t’ee 

adults t’aginch’yaa.  Yeendaa geenjit geegoodaantan haa gaa giindaii ts’a’ 

gwak’agaahtii.  Gii critics (dinjii geenjit khanch’igeełtin naii t’arahnyaa) aii 

minimum wage dak t’ii’in aii k’eejit naii minimum wage tr’agwahgwahh’yaa 

gooveenjit gwinzii gwik’it tagwaayii kwaa gwitr’it gwinleii gwanlii gaa 



gooveenjit tr’adagoiidhan.  Gaa chan izhit gwiintł‘oo gooveenjit t’ohłii 

t’oonch’yaa kwaa gaa chan izhit t’agwii’in Alaska law t’eh proposed 

initiative ch’ijuk t’aheenjyaa kwaa.  Workers, juu tr’agwah’in naii, 18 years 

old t’sa’ zhak naa’ai’ naii 30 hours per week tr’agwagwah’in naii Alaska 

minimum wage gwats’anh gagookwat gwedeegaach’yaa kwaa (exempt) 

ts’a’ chan jii federal minimum wage law t’eh gwizhrih t’iinch’yaa.    

In Alaska, approximately 30,000 workers at or near the minimum wage who would benefit from 

this measure are employed in seafood processing, hotels, restaurants and food service, child 

care, as cashiers and delivery drivers, and in other low-paying occupations. 

Alaska gwizhit łyaa zhyaa 30,000 gwitr’it t’agwah’in naii minimum wage 

gahtsii or gwats’a’ gahtsii.  Jii measure t’eh juu naii gwats’anh 

tr’agwegweheelyaa, gwitr’it t’agwah’in naii t’ee seafood processing, hotels, 

restaurants, food service, child care, cashiers ts’a’ delivery drivers, juu 

tr’agwah’in naii gwiint tł’oo agagookwat kwaa naii datthak t’agahnyaa. 

Alaska Needs a Raise! 

Alaska gwintł’oo gagookwat gwit’eegaahch’yaa. 

Ed Flanagan, Chair   Tom Cashen, Co-Chair   Jim Sampson, Co-Chair  

ALASKANS FOR A FAIR MINIMUM WAGE 

 



Ballot Measure #3  
STATEMENT IN OPPOSITION  
 
Make no mistake, should Proposition 3 pass, it would have two immediate effects—but not the 
ones supporters would have you believe. 
Gwehk’aa t’agweheenjyaa gwits’i’ proposition 3 gehndaa goodhat ji’ neekwat vats’anh han 
t’agwehneenjyaa.gaa juu gwats’aii neelzhii kwaa naii jidii ik’ee ch’ohkhyit noogahoonjyaa. 
 
First, teenage unemployment will increase over time, reducing their chances of getting valuable 
work experience; second, the ability of low-skilled workers to earn income, especially those 
assisting seniors with errands and chores around the house, would be drastically cut—harming 
two groups of people at once. 
Tr’ohkhyit k’eejit diik’ineejii naii, gweedhaa gwizhit unemployment goovaa dak t’agweheenjyaa.  
Gwitr’it geedoogahaanchyaa geenjit ch’ijuk t’agweheenjyaa ts’a’ chan goovaa zhak 
t’agweheejyaa.  Aii tł‘ee chan juu gwitr’it haandaii kwaa naii tr’agwagwahah’yaa.  Juu naii 
ch’anjaa eenjit tr’agwah’in ts’a’ k’eegwiich’yaa gooveenjit tagii’in aii naii łyaa t’agahnyaa.  Aii naii 
t’ee goovaa ndaa nagwahaa’ai’ t’oonch’yaa.  Aii t’ee izhit zhak ch’anjaa ts’a’ gwitr’it t’agwah’in, 
nihłaa goovaa gweheezuu. 
 
In fact, more than those earning below it, the only potential beneficiaries of Proposition 3 are 
likely to be families earning at least three times the poverty level, making a minimum-wage 
increase a lousy anti-poverty initiative.  
 
(the only people who will benefit from proposition 3 are families earning at least three times the 
poverty level and a minimum wage increase would not be a good method to get them out of 
poverty.) 
Juu dinjii naii proposition 3 naii qwats’an tr’igwiheelyaa naii t’ee zhehk’aa gwizhit tik dilk’ii naii, at 
least three times gahtsii naii t’agahnyaa, Juu neeshraahchy’aa naii t’arahnyaa. Ts’a’ chan jii 
minimum wage dak t’iizhik ji’ gaa tth’aii nik’it neeshragahahchy’aa. 
 
These results are not a matter of speculation, but economic patterns that have followed every 
increase in the minimum wage. It’s vital voters know the truth about the minimum wage: 
Jii t’ee gwik’it t’oonch’yaa gaa garaah’in t’agwinyaa kwaa.  Gaa gwitr’it haa jyahts’a’ gweedhaa 
haa minimum wage dak tigii’in.  Juu voters naii minimum wage deegwii’in gaagiindaii ji’ łyaa 
gweheezyaa. 
 

 99 percent of all hourly wage workers in Alaska (all but 2,000 people) already earn above 
the minimum wage (2012, latest data available) 

99 percent hourly wages, Alaska gwizhit gwitr’it t’agwah’in naii.  (2,000 dinjii gwehzhak 
tr’agwagwah’ya’) naii minimum wage gwehzhak jadai’ hee gwitr’it t’agwaagwah’in.  (2012 t’ee 
gwats’an danahoot tł’oo). 

 More than 50 percent of minimum-wage workers are under age 24, so raising the rate 
removes the first rung up the economic ladder of life for young adults, as business owners 
are forced to cut back on hiring in order to meet the cost increase 

50 percent gwandaa t’ee minimum wage tr’agwah’in naii 24 years old gwats’an zhak 
t’agiinch’yaa.  Jii rate dak t’agiinlik ji’, diik’aneejii naii dak tłigaheedaa gooveenjit gwegweheetrii.  
Business owners naii gitr’agii’ee gaa  cut back gwaawahahtsyaa. dinjii gwitr’it nagaheelyaa  
eenjit.  Gwik’it t’agahee’yaa gwizhrih goo’aii, deeqwahtł’oo gwanlii qwik’it t’agaheech’yaa geenjit. 

 



 After the last federal increase in the minimum wage, one-half million teenage jobs 
disappeared following six months, and that was in a period of economic recovery when 
more jobs should be available.  

Last time, federal minimum wage dak t’agwiizhik dai’ one-half million k’eejit naii googwitr’it six 
month ts’a’ k’eegwaajil izhit t’ee gwitr’it gooli’ gaa hai’ ts’a’ gwitr’it haneegwiijyaa gwiizhik 
t’agwiizhik. 

 The average annual family income of those earning the minimum wage (nationally in 2009) 
was over $48,000.  

(2009) dai’ one year gwideezhak zhehk’aa minimum wage $48,000 gahstsii. 

 Significantly more people earning at least three times the poverty level will benefit as those 
living beneath it.  

Dinjii laraa nizii ahtsii aii juu neetraahch’yaa three times goovandaa laraa gahtsii.  Izhit 
gwats’an tr’agwegwilii haa aiits’a aiihaa gwinzii adagwagwaandaii. 
 

 83 percent of minimum wage earners are teenagers living with working parents, adults 
living alone, or dual income couple.  

83 percent minimum wage khanadaadaii naii t’ee k’eejit dagiiyahghan tr’agwah’in haa 
gwigwitch’ii, dinjii dazhrih gwichii or nihtłeegaadii nih tłaa tr’agwah’in naii. 

 
Prop. 3 supporters point to Washington State as an example Alaska should follow. In 2013, both 
states had similar unemployment rates—6.5 percent in Alaska, and 7 percent in Washington. But 
for young adults ages 16 to 19, the situation was much different. In Alaska, where the minimum 
wage is $7.75 an hour, teen unemployment was 17.5 percent. In Washington state, where the 
minimum wage is $9.32 an hour and rises every year because of indexing to inflation, the teen 
unemployment rate was an astounding 30.6 percent. 
Prop 3 ts’aii neelzhii naii Washington State ts’a’ point gilii, aii t’ee Alaska gwikit t’agoo’ya’ ts’a’ taii 
goodaa. 2013 dai’ jii state nihtłaa ts’a’ unemployment rate nihk’it t’agoonch’yaa.  Alaska aii 6.5 
percent, Washington chan 70 percent gaa deek’aneejii nan age 16-19 years old izhit aii ch’ijuk 
t’agoonch’yaa.  Alaska minimum wage t’ee $7.75 an hour nilii ts’a’ k’eejit tr’agwah’in kwaa naii 
unemployment 17.5 percent t’inch’yaa.  Washington State chan minimum wage $9.32 an hour 
ts’a’ jidii tthak dak t’ii’in ts’a’ every year laraa gahtsii dak t’ii’in.  K’eejit unemployment 30.6 percent 
nilii ts’a’ goorahtee dak t’agwiizhik minimum wage yeedak t’iinjik dai’ deegwii’in t’agwii’in?  
 
What happens when minimum wages rise too high?  Remember filling station attendants. How 
about baggers in grocery stores? Or, for older people, ushers in movie theatres.  All have been 
eliminated. Technology may do the same for today’s minimum wage jobs. Placing orders through 
touch screens and the self-checkout is growing in Alaska. Losing these jobs means losing the 
bottom rung on the career ladder and fewer opportunities for the people who used to fill those 
jobs. 
Gas station naii tr’agwah’in anoondaii? Ch’ookwat zheh gwits’inyaa naii yu’ ? Ch’anjaa nagwaatsi’ 
zheh tr’agwah’in naii yu’? Aii naii t’ee goovaa daagwahaa’ai’ t’oonch’yaa.  Technology (computer, 
machine k’it’iich’ii kwaii t’agahnyaa) aii t’ee minimum wage job gwedehk’it duulee juk gweendaa 
gwidehk’it naheedaa,  Juk Alaska gwizhit computer jadai’ hee keech’agigiinkhii aiits’a’ diikhwahai’ 
ch’ookwat zheh computer k’aa han ch’arookwat.  (Express Lane) Jii gwitr’it gehkhii dai’ dinjii naii 
t’ii’in izhit juk gwitr’it kwaa.  Izhit gwidehk’it  juk gwinzii dinjii t’agaahch’yaa kwaa.  Aii kwaii tthak 
haatr’agweenjii. 
 
 



Asks economist William J. Dennis, who has studied small business and the minimum wage for 40 
years: “Employers want experienced workers. How do you get experience when you price people 
out of the market in the first place?” 
Jii dinjii William J. Dennis economist, oohkat, business gwatsal ts’a’ minimum wage 40 years 
dattthak.  Jyahts’a’ gwaadhal datthak gwak’aahtii haa geenjit geedooltin. Employers naii juu 
gwitr’it gwinzii t’agwah’in naii zhrih keegahi’ik njyah ts’a’ dinjii gwitr’it gwagwahaa’ee giindhan? 
goots’i’ computer k’it’iinch’ii nagilii gwiizhit? 
 
National Federation of Independent Business/Alaska 
Douglas Murray, P.E. 
PeggyAnn McConnochie 
Kevin Turkington 


