
Ballot Measure No. 3 - 13MINW 
An Act to Increase Alaska’s Minimum Wage 

 
This bill would raise Alaska’s minimum wage from $7.75 per hour to $8.75 per 
hour as of January 1, 2015. The bill would raise the minimum wage to $9.75 per 
hour as of January 1, 2016. The bill would adjust the minimum wage each year 
for inflation after 2016. The bill creates a method for this adjustment. Under the 
bill, if the adjusted minimum wage is less than one dollar over the federal 
minimum wage, Alaska’s minimum wage will be one dollar over the federal 
minimum. Tips or gratuities would not count toward the minimum wage.  
 
The bill has a statement of findings and declaration. This statement gives 
reasons for the bill. The reasons pertain to quality of life for low income workers, 
the effect of increases in the cost of living, the relationship of the Alaska 
minimum wage to the federal poverty level, and the minimum wage in other 
states. 
 
 Should this initiative become law? 
 


